District tournament info

The 2016 District Tournament will take place at Albuquerque Academy, March 10-12.


Judge registration: Click on this Sign Up Genius link.

Judge training: Visit the National Speech and Debate Association site.


Schools should register here: Joy of Tournaments

Please read through the National Speech and Debate Association manual to be clear on evidence rules and interpretation script requirements.
Extemp topic areas can be found here.

State Tournament info

New Mexico Speech & Debate Association State Tournament

Mayfield High School, Las Cruces

Thursday, February 25—Saturday, February 27, 2016

Coaches: Please check the Joy of Tournaments page for deadlines, entry info, eligibility forms, and to register.

Eligibility: A school must be an NMAA member and an NMSDA member to participate in the state tournament. To become an NMSDA member, a school must have paid its $50 annual dues. Students must meet NMAA eligibility criteria for participation.

Judging: Please contact coaches Melissa Brown (cell – 406-241-3473, mbrown@fms.k12.nm.us), Margo Batha (m.batha@laschools.net); or tournament host Kris Blais (kblais@lcps.k12.nm.us) for more information on how to sign up to be a judge.

Online judge signupSign-up Genius

Judge training: National Speech and Debate Association judge training

State Congress Tournament information

State Congress: The State Congressional Debate tournament will be held at Desert Academy in Santa Fe, on Saturday, Jan. 30.

Dockets: Preliminary Sessions 1 and 2 — and — Final Session

Annual Awards: Nominations for the Speech Coach of the Year and Debate Coach of the Year, as well as the Akin Award are to be submitted to llincoln@desertacademy.org. Coach award nomination forms are here.

Dues: $50 is owed before the State Congress tournament begins. Please send checks to:

New Mexico State Speech and Debate Association

Attn: Melissa Brown, Treasurer
4747 Eastwind Avenue
Farmington, New Mexico 87401


2015-2016 Tournament Schedule

2015-2016 Tournament Schedule

Click on Tournaments link for full schedules and registration information.

September 9: Capitol Congress at Santa Fe Roundhouse
September 25-26: Los Alamos Tournament
October 3: Rio Grande Congress
October 17: East Mountain Speech & Congress Tournament
October 30-31: Highland Tournament
November 7: Abq School of Excellence Speech Tournament
November 20: Del Norte Tournament TBD
December 4-5: Rio Grande Tournament
January 22-23: La Cueva Tournament
January 30: Desert Academy Congress Tournament
February 12-13: Tres Rios Tournament in Farmington
February 25-27: State Tournament at Mayfield High School in Las Cruces
March 10-12: District Tournament at Abq Academy

New Mexico Students Represent Big at Nationals!

From June 14-20, top students from New Mexico competed in the world’s largest academic competition in Dallas, TX: the National Speech and Debate Tournament.

This year’s tournament introduced a new debate event called World Schools Debate. And a team of students from New Mexico won the first place championship in this historic event. The students included: Areeg Abd-Alla from La Cueva; Jessica Berry from Albuquerque Academy; Jonathan Hasse from La Cueva; Sajilla Hossain from La Cueva; and Ani Nadiga from Los Alamos. Melissa Brown of Farmington and Lisa Lincoln of Desert Academy served as coaches of our World Schools teams.

East Mountain High School Senior Adelynn Nee qualified to the final round in the event Extemporaneous Commentary, finishing 6th place out of 220 students. Albuquerque Academy Senior Ria Mazumdar advanced to the semifinal round of United States Extemporaneous Speaking, placing 13th overall. Taos High School Seniors Shay Moon and Khaled Khweis advanced to Round 10 of Public Forum Debate, placing them in the top 30 of teams nationwide.

All of our students represented New Mexico well. Our first place finish in World Schools Debate just goes to show the power of our district’s ability to collaborate. This was not just one school’s victory-it was a victory for our entire district. Students representing multiple schools working together with coaches from many schools made this success a possibility. Big things continue to happen in New Mexico!

Several coaches from New Mexico also received outstanding recognition. Head coach of East Mountain High School, Trey Smith, was named Runner-Up National Coach of the Year. Additionally, coach of Rio Grande High School, Louie Chavez, and Hannah Flake of East Mountain High School, were both presented with the Diamond Award, an honor reserved for coaches with 1,500 points and at least five years of coaching experience.

In all, eleven New Mexico schools were represented at this prestigious event: Albuquerque Academy, Desert Academy, East Mountain High School, Eldorado, Jemez Mountain Home School, La Cueva, Los Alamos, Rio Grande, Santa Fe Prep, St. Pius, and Taos High School.

Chair of the New Mexico District, Trey Smith, noted “New Mexico continues to be recognized as one of the top states for Speech and Debate competition in the nation. To win the first ever championship in World Schools Debate is an incredible achievement for our state. Education news in New Mexico is rarely positive, but our speech and debate programs are proving to be the best of the best.

About the National Speech & Debate Association

The National Speech & Debate Association is the largest interscholastic speech and debate organization serving middle school, high school, and collegiate students in the United States. The Association provides competitive speech and debate activities, high-quality resources, comprehensive training, scholarship opportunities, and advanced recognition to more than 130,000 students and coaches every year. For nearly 90 years, the National Speech & Debate Association has empowered more than 1.4 million members to become engaged citizens, skilled professionals, and honorable leaders in our society. For more information, visit www.speechanddebate.org.